Milestone

8 Sep

After 14 months and struggle with various brands of formula milk, I have decided to stop expressing. I can’t believe that I have been doing it for 14 months!!!

The engorgement encounters were a torture and cabbage had become my new best friend then. If you don’t know, cabbage has enzymes in them that helps ease the flow from block milk ducts. Engorgement happened very frequently to me. Also, the waking up of every 3 hours, the coping of a new baby, washing and sterlising the bottles in wee hours were not making expressing easy either.

We made every effort to keep our life normal and met our friends for meals and gathering now and then (though much lesser than before). We had to make sure that the timing for milk feed and expressing were well scheduled and planned for. If we had to stay out a little longer, we had to lug the expressing tools, and that means the pumps, the bottles and the ice blocks. Not ideal, but we do not want to let anything hold us back from our “normal’ life.

As a new mum, I have learnt alot during this phase and really have my family and friends to thank, for their patience and accommodating me in every way.

I can’t deny that without expressing, I have gain lots of freedom and sleep-time but at the same time, I would have been happier if I could provide for E for as long as I could. But sigh, I have to stop at some point right? It has been a milestone and I am proud of myself that I have come this far.

I am happy that I can spend more time with E now. We will be going out for more walks during the weekends, an activity E loves and we are looking forward to more brunch meets with friends. Now, if you are game for an early brekkie, let’s meet up!! <5pf>

20130908-203815.jpg

Share your thoughts?

